Northern Exposure

By Northern

HUBshots and hazards

A woman asked me how far I'd cycled today and when I answered she asked if that was why I was holding my bike up in the air?

You're damn right it was. 48.6km (otherwise known as 30.19 miles) has to be a reason to celebrate!

Fair enough, at the point I took the pic I had only done half of the distance but it wasn't hard to figure that I had the same distance to travel home as it was straight there and back route.

Fabulous weather and a notion just to keep going for a little longer took me over causeways and hills and islands to the Gloup at the far north east corner of Deerness, which is the furthest east peninsula of the East Mainland. I did consider taking a pic next to the Gloup but I thought that might result in a very different blip of me tipping over the edge into a very deep hole.

I didn't slip or trip taking this HUBshot but I did have two strange encounters on my travels. The first was a Great Dane as big as my bike and the second a big red heifer who was much bigger than me and my bike. Both were messing about on the verge (not together you understand, at different points in the journey) until they saw me coming and decide to investigate this odd creature. I reckoned the best approach was to stand still and let them have a good look, which both did - very closely. Thanks to which I can now confirm for you that both large dogs and bovines drool quite a lot. And big red cows are much, much scarier than Scooby Doo.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.