just allan

By allan

Going Coastal

Oyster Catchers in Belhaven Bay, East Lothian. Looking North West, with Traprain Law in the background. Definitely better Large!

I had left the bike at the station after taking the train to Edinburgh to see The Sixteen at Greyfriars Kirk with Marchmont - then taking the last bus home. (The performance, venue, food, beer and chat were all world class. Thanks Ann!). So, this evening I walked along the coastal route to Dunbar and found these lovelies sitting on a rock in the gathering dusk.

I crept down onto the rocks, took photos as I approached and then the waves started. The birds weren't bothered. I got a bit closer, and tried a couple of test shots with manual full-power flash. Then I could hear a great big wave coming, and just as it broke the birds took off. SNAP! Gotcha! I was pretty happy - I actually walked off with my hands raised. Not too often that happens!

More from this evening on Flickr.

I spent the day indoors despite the perfect weather DIY-ing and generally making the house nicer. I had the windows open all day and dusted throughout - I've actually never done that before. Many fewer cobwebs, and I could actually watch the dust blowing out of the window. Then I painted the stairwell without breaking my neck. Worth a celebration. Vin rouge.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.