Looks Good To Me

By Pilipo

In Memory of B

I don't know anything about B except that he took his own life at the age of 18 -- 6659 days, to be exact -- and that he was obviously loved by his friends in the photo.

It was a beautiful morning and Miss Annie and I were tired of walking the neighborhood, so we went to enjoy the sunshine at Lake Padden.

On the way into the park there were signs displaying the words "Out of the Darkness Community Walk". It was a fundraising event for the American Foundation for Suicide Prevention. I was surprised to see that almost all the participants were young adults. I was even more surprised when I learned from the AFSP website that the suicide rate is highest for people between the ages of 40 and 59.

I was reminded that one of my paragliding friends committed suicide a few years ago, and her husband made an unsuccessful attempt shortly afterwards.



Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.