Inside Outside

By caileanmac

Roineabhal

Despite the best efforts of a force 9 - 10 gale and vicious sleat squalls, I managed to ascent all 460 metres of Roineabhal to it's trig point where I found an orienteering marker as part of the Isle of Harris Mountain Festival .

It wasn't a fast hill run today as it was hard work leaning into the wind to prevent me getting thrown off my feet. However this quote which I read on Twitter this morning stood out in my mind:

"sweat is fat that is crying"

which spurred me on to run hard and fast off the summit.

I caught a glimpse of the Sound of Harris between squalls and saw a fearsome sight; an overfall (think of a cauldron of tides, surf & swell meeting) stretching the full distance between Berneray and Killegray, a distance of about a mile and half. I'm glad I wasn't afloat there in my sea kayak and even the Sound of Harris Caledonian Macbrayne ferry was safely moored at it's jetty this afternoon.

The morning ferry is cancelled between Stornoway and Ullapool, so our holiday might not be finished yet...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.