Was It Really So Long Ago

By LincolnGreen

Tagged - October Origins

Handling a 40kg package or working with a ladder are tasks not to be taken lightly. Paperwork and training courses must be completed. Signatures must be obtained in order to be certified for missions involving this kind of jeopardy!

Parenthood is on another level completely, but there are no training courses, no certificates and no instruction manuals. Sometimes the world seems barking mad to me. You can make up your own mind.

Our first born arrived 7 years ago, a while past midnight in hospital. Although baby was fine, beloved needed emergency surgery and after the birth, she was whisked off.

Thankfully all ended well, but in the meantime, I found myself having transformed instantly into a parent, quite alone in the birthing room apart from a very small bundle of joy.

Joy turned quickly to panic. She was sleeping peacefully, but what if she was to wake up? What was I supposed to do? What if I got it wrong?

I told myself to relax. It's not like you're at risk of physical harm, like falling off a ladder. You're only responsible for a brand new whole tiny little person!!!!

Where's that gas and air???

Panic has fortuately once again returned to joy - well most of the time.

Find the rest of the October Origins entries here devised by Ponty Cyclops

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.