The Life Of Ponty Cyclops

By pontycyclops

Little And Large

Spent the morning at Newport Wetlands.

It was a stunningly beautiful morning for photography. I haven't edited the colours on this picture, it really as taken.

I went down to Goldcliffe first, and had an hour or so bird watching with the scope. I managed to pick up a few more year ticks from the waders out on the scrape. I missed the Golden Plovers though, which was my primary reason for going.

Countryside Wales have put two new hides down there now. Hopefully the mindless yobs who burnt the last one down will stay away this time. If they do, it will be a new bird watching patch of mine from now on in.

The bird watchers in the hide seemed impressed as I was the finder of the Wryneck when they asked me if I had a chance to see it.

I popped up to the reserve proper after for a couple of hours with the camera. It was fairly quiet there. Loads of wildfowl on the lagoons.

I am sure there are far more Little Grebes there this year than last.

I just had to use this photograph for this blip. It shows natures crazy diversity. One of Britain's biggest water birds next to one of the smallest.

As a final aside, when I went to the visitor centre on the way back to the car, Mat, one of the volunteers there saw me and said: "Ahh! Mister Wryneck. Got any rarities for me today."

Alas all I had was some dragonfly and butterfly pictures! ;o)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.