CleanSteve

By CleanSteve

My 0101101101

I'd been hoping to visit the autumnal glories of Westonbirt Arboretum to celebrate this day. But the weather decided to not obey the forecast, with a heavy downpour only minutes ago proving my point. The grey sky was also not helping my plans.

So, as I am short of time anyway, I've decided to try a cheesy shot from my desk looking out across our wonderful and inspiring landscape. I put up a sign for any eyes looking into our world, but even the birds have been sheltering so far today.

Since I have gone digital, I thought I would use the basics of RGB in the frame, but the sky didn't deliver the azure blue I would have hoped for. (I must remember to plan a trip to southern France to stock up on the relentless light that I love so much). Instead Annie's lovely gift of a heart to me, from decades ago, offers me the hint of blue. The red flowers of the ever optimistic Aeschynanthus plant and the green leaves of my long-suffering Pelargonium Ardens, adorn the foreground, representing the essence of life and the wonder of its colours. The numbers also represent the old, the new and the digital, the power of which is seeming to drive the world in all its good and bad aspects.

I want to thank Dailykeith for bringing me to this particular image because he introduced me to our blip world; to KindaHorrigans for her kind and effective support when I needed it; to Challenge for always finding time in her relentless pursuit of faces and people to say her kindly hellos; to Joeblogs who we are all obliged to; and to Molly, whose Tuscany subscription I cannot bear to delete, and which I hope you might take a look at again.

A particular thank you must go to David Thurston, whose photography has inspired me for decades, since we met in 1973. It is through him that I got my nickname which I use here, and it was an especial delight to be taken by him to see Bob Dylan last week and share time together again, all these years later.

A few others visit, who I am always pleased to see, and I reciprocate when I can. I just hope there will be space for at least intermittent blipping in future, as the pressures of living, which I think we all feel, are forcing me to concentrate on more than Blipfoto at the moment.

We all need more fun!

NB
Many thanks to ~ timr for noticing my non-deliberate mistake. Sadly, I am not going to indulge in a re-shoot. I will just have to remember to check more carefully another time. Apologies for factual inaccuracies.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.