Garden guest in gloom

What is that you express in your eyes? It seems to me more than all the print I have read in my life.

Walt Whitman


It's a dark and gloomy morning. Before long the garden will be lashed with blowy rain and swirling leaves. As I opened the curtains this morning I saw a flash of movement, snatched my camera and stepped out. Behind the patio two does were frozen by the sound of my steps, poised to flee. The younger one bounded away, white tail flashing. The other gazed at me with dark eyes, rimmed in looped and curving lashes. Lower lashes and ear replicated in the curled covering of the Shag Bark Hickory at her side. Hesitating for a motionless moment in feeble light, she mirrored her daughter, a leaping brown and white arch.

For the Record,
This day came in dark and stormy with heavy rain by afternoon, 1-3 inches.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.