On My Doorstep

By bwhere

From Above

I'm on the floor again. This time pawing over aerial photos of the parish for a talk I need to prepare for November.

I have to say that aerial photos (at least the ones taken for archaeological purposes) do excite me. Each to his own!

It is a number of years since I talked on this topic but I have been asked to repeat one I gave at the outset of my interest, to a neighbouring local history group. Each time I look at these photos I see something new.

The photos I am looking through here were taken for the specific purpose of identifying crop marks or earthworks. Some were taken just when the conditions were right with respect to the direction of the sun or just after a light covering of snow.

I enjoyed talking on this topic in the past so I hope to maintain that enjoyment when I talk in November.



Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.