The Wren

By TheWren

Guess who's been to dinner?

The walk today took me through a very old part of the wood where branches and stumps of trees have been left to naturalise and have subsequently taken on wonderful layers of soft green mosses, fungi and lichen over the years. I took a few photos, including some where the dogs starred, but then I saw this abandoned tree stump with its soft moss green tablecloth littered with the remains of dinner. I had a surreal Beatrix Potter moment when I imagined Squirrel Nutkin sitting, with a bib tucked under his chin, stripping the pine cone to get access to its sweet kernels. Then I blinked and he was gone! I just hope the real diner was a red squirrel.

Following on a cold but otherwise pleasant morning the day deteriorated into a cold but not so pleasant drizzly afternoon. Thankfully the dogs and I had taken the opportunity to walk in the morning and so, armed with my gloves and umbrella, I went to a local church hall for a really interesting afternoon demonstration of flower arranging followed by a welcome cuppa and home baking. The latter was the real draw of course!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.