OrcadesDays

By Orc2009

Short-eared owl

I went a walk in Stenness. Masses of birds on the lochs there...hundreds of wigeon, mallard, pochard, teal, tufted ducks, cormorants, slavonian grebes, etc etc.

The sky wasn't co-operating lightwise, though, it was very grey and overcast.

I walked up to the Ring of Brodgar and a very vocal raven flew over. He'd passed me earlier and had been noisy then too, I don't know what had got him ranting and rav(en)ing.

Near the stones there was some rough ground and I thought I'd walk through and see if there were an hares. Instead, this owl flew up. I'll get a good shot one day but they are faster off the ground than you'd expect. I saw where he landed and I suppose I could have sneaked up on him, but thought he deserved to be left in peace.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.