Ringed horse

The island in the distance, through the ring, is the Horse of Copinsay.

I went to Deerness and walked from Lighthouse Corner along the road and shore to the Points Of Ayre. The wind was gusting from the south to over 40mph. Very difficult to see anything, never mind walk, as the glass in my specs was constantly being coated in fine salt spray. I sheltered in the lee of the cliff east of the Point and made coffee. Even gannets were struggling to stay in the air and I saw a beautiful little falcon- a female merlin, round the point and rest on a rock in the sea. She must have been catching spray from the nearby breakers and soon took off with great difficulty.
This iron ring was on the shore, I placed it in this position for the shot.

I walked on past Newark Bay. A sperm whale was reported there yesterday, but the conditions were against seeing it...and I didn't. I finished at Dingieshowe and sat near St. Peter's Pool until the bus appeared in the near-darkness.
More shots here.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.