Amphiconophorus gigantea, a native NZ Slug

They're a species of Leaf- veined Slugs (putoko). They do not harm the vegetable garden or the flower garden.

April last year I found them under a tarpaulin we had covering a load of dirt that we had brought in, and my first reaction was to kill them. Thank goodness I did not, as they are native and harmless.
Makes me look at them in quite a different way.
It was MissU2 who identified them for me.
Anyway after photographing them last year - as here, I placed them back in the garden never expecting to see them again.
But today I was in my garden and was moving some gardening pots, and found them at the bottom of it. I was so pleased they were still around. Maybe they were always in the garden.
There must have been about 12 of them.
As the pot had all grunge on it, leaf mould etc, I placed it on a Chatham Island Daisy leaf, and it crawled to the underside.
When finished with the 'photo shoot' - he was placed back with the others.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.