The Edge of the Wold

By gladders

Life on the edge

This lady is calmly chewing the cud while behind her there is the cliff of Scout Scar where the limestone scarp drops steeply to the screes below and then down to the Lyth Valley.

She is one of a herd of these gentle black cattle who are happily grazing the top of the scar with no fences between them and the edge. This is an area where the people of Kendal go to exercise their dogs, so these cows need to be bomb-proof.

The cattle are there for conservation reasons. It has been difficult to keep sheep on the scar for many years because of the dogs, and more modern breeds of cow would not cope with the rough grazing. As a result, the grasslands have become dominated by the blue moor grass, to the exclusion of many of the other special plants of the limestone grasslands. The cattle are now grazing off the thick grass and allowing the smaller, less competitive plants a chance to come through.

I went for a walk on the Scar at lunchtime. It was windy and the cloud was thick and low. Still good for the soul though.

Back at the office there was no sign of the white rat today. Strange that after talking about rats in yesterday's blip, I dreamed about them last night. Not just rats as big as cats, but bigger. Bob the Cat was in the dream, totally intimidated by the giant rodents. I'm usually useless at remembering dreams, but that one was fresh in my mind when I woke this morning. Maybe I too harbour a secret fear of rats.

I may be a bit comment-light tonight, we have visitors and I don't want to be too rude. I must say thank you though for all the stars and hearts for yesterday's First Frost.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.