Dutch Skies

By RonBuist

Peleides Blue Morpho

Friday; another daddy day and also the last day of a one week holiday for Nienke and Inge. Monday it's back to school for them. After Martine left for work I checked the weather forecast. It was going to be sunny but cold. Nienke, Inge and Ellis had wanted to go to the zoo for a couple of days and I thought today would be a good day for it. I called my mom and she wanted to come with us. Thanks mom, it was a fun day and with three little girls it's always good to have someone around to help somewhat where needed. Not that it was needed that much; the girls behaved themselves really well.

We spent nearly the whole day at the zoo in Emmen and of course I took lots of pictures. This butterfly, a Common Morpho, wins because I have been trying to capture its beautiful blue wings for quite some time but until now without much luck. They usually show the other side of their wings, which is a brownish colour with fake eyes. Check this Wikipedia article for how the other side looks and for additional information.

We had dinner at my parent's place and then it was time to take the girls to bed. After a couple of minutes, Inge came running down the stairs. Her wobbly tooth suddenly turned extremely wobbly and after some poking at it with her finger, the tooth fell out. A first for her, so she was very excited. We let her call her aunt and grandparents so she could tell the story and then she calmed down somewhat and I took her back to bed. She's getting big...

Remember our scooter incident? Today we received a letter from my employer's insurance agency: they actually received a claim from the scooter's driver insurance company. I have no idea how they see that is fair but now I need to write down my witness report in accordance with Italian law so the case can be handled. I would be very surprised if the result would be any other than the scooter driver has to pay for his own damage as he is the only cause of that damage. Having said that, I do hope he is OK and the only damage is to his scooter and not to himself...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.