Ramblings and Mutterings

By ValleyAllBlack

October Origins - A Night at the Opera

After a busy and rather productive week what better way to relax than a night out, in fact you could say it was a Night at the Opera! Lol!

Let's get the night out of the way first, if you're a regular follower of my journal you'll know that I'm a big fan of going to the theatre, but strangely enough I've never seen an opera. So tonight I ventured to the Grand Theatre, Swansea to see Welsh National Opera's presentation of Mozart's 'Don Giovanni', with my good friend StrictlyDavina. For those of you who don't know Don Giovanni he loves the ladies, a bit like Casanova, but ultimately he pays for his sins by being swallowed by the gates of hell. There were some really powerful voices among the cast, and we had the treat of a full blown orchestra; it may be three and half hours long but it soon flies by. It was a thoroughly enjoyable evening and one I shall be doing again in the future.

So now you're wondering, how is he going to turn this into an Origins blips? Ah ha watch and learn!

Music enthusiasts will know a Night at the Opera as the title of one of Queen's albums, Queen being one of my favourite groups of all time. They were the first group I ever really got into, although it wasn't until after Live Aid in 1985 that I first truly appreciated their work. I think for many people who watched or listened to that event, Queen were one of the highlights of the day, lead singer Freddie Mercury was a born showman and the event suited him down to the ground.

From then on I hunted down all their albums and can remember taking trips to Cardiff with my friends to visit the W.H.Smith store, and I can tell you in them days it was a big adventure as we took the bus down to Cardiff from Aberdare. I've got all of their albums, and they're either on cassette tape or vinyl, the only album I've got on CD is the album released after Freddie died. I was even a member of their Fan Club at one point.

I still enjoy listening to their music now, although it's all through the radio now, I can't remember the last time I played the vinyl on the old turntable. Some really great tracks, Seven Seas of Rye, Hammer to Fall and of course the more well known ones such as We Will Rock You, Bohemian Rhapsody. Ok own up when Bohemian Rhapsody comes on do you do the Wayne's World thing? And why is it ladies dig lead guitarists?

I commented that PontyCyclops had an eclectic taste in music in his journal the other day, and I must admit I'm the same. After Queen I went through my Heavy Metal phase, with long hair as well, so listened to Iron Maiden, Skid Row etc, even Bon Jovi! Lol! Yes when 'Slippery when Wet' came out it was a tape which was continually played and played by my mates, and yes we thought it was cutting edge Heavy Metal music. Oh the foolishness of youth, lol! As you can see from above I also love my classical music as well, you can't beat a bit of Mozart!

So I enjoy my music whatever it might be, although if there is one genre I like more than any other it is Rock. Yes I guess I'm just a rocker at heart!

This Origins Blip was brought to you by PontyCyclops challenge.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.