Kinda Before Horrigans

By horrigansbefore

Are you sure this is the smallest they do?

... it's going to take some eating...

[finished version on my [url=http://www.blipfoto.com/entry/1480732]Kinda Horrigans[/url] journal]

Nothing particularly clever about this one - it falls into the 'desperation' category, i.e. I take a shot and slap a texture on over the top of it... then instantly feel like I shouldn't have bothered. Anyway, I did. To do that is easy. Take your shot... then take another of a texture you want to use, copy the one image into a new layer on top of the original (still with me?) and set the blend mode to something like overlay, softlight or multiply - experiment and see what works. Reduce the opacity and little and use a layer mask to make the effect more subtle on some areas (especially skin / things which aren't meant to look textured!).

Sharpen, flatten the layers and save. Easy!

Tip of the day:
I'd love to have a go at some real 'toy photography' - the idea always appeals to me as an interesting way of doing still life shots. But I never have time to think it through. However, for inspriation, these 35 Extraordinarily Clever Examples of Toy Photography will whet your apetite!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.