Live/Love/Smile

By Shonie

With Thanks

Well finished my Saturday 12/9pm with a heavy heart and much disappointment....the day was hectic from the off with chefs not turning up and delays on food. However, people were warned there had been some kitchen issues meaning there would be a 25 minute wait, as waiting staff there's not much we can do other than give the best service we can and make sure they are happy until the food arrives.
Today I was in a section of the restaurant normally considered pretty damn good for getting tips...and being on minimum wage it really does help. A 9hour shift like today in that section would normally (luckily/hopefully) see you coming away with at least £40. So today I gave my normal service and normally I really don't mind not raking in the tips if someone has had a nice visit and would return. But, here is where I have an issue; If you admit to your waiter/waitress everything was lovely/really nice/super service would it not seem fair or appropriate to tip, despite the wait which people were informed about at the host station. The food and service were really no different than normal. It is then so disappointing to have been there 9 hours and come away with the grand total of ....£8 for the entire day. This is equally a stinger when one of my tables had a bill of £166.80! They didnt even leave me a couple of pound, a penny. Nothing.
The thing many people dont realise is we have to give a percentage of our tips to the kitchen and bar and in our restaurant this is done by covers and section. The middle section (where I was) is charged at 10pence a cover, so for a table of four we would hand over for that table 40pence. All your covers are then added up when you cash off and you are told to hand over 'X' amount from what you have made.... so when we are getting hammered with tables and not making any tips it can be stressful. If you dont make enough to cover what you owe you put in what you can.

I know everyone has generally different tipping rules or tipping etiquette; I even have friends who will admit regardless of how nice the food is or how good the service it they are not 'people who tip'. Being in that kind of job perhaps I admit I over tip but I am also an over critical customer so it goes hand in hand.
However, today was one of those days where you walk around and think...really??? What is the point in being nice, does anyone even notice??
So, feeling tired and tearful I have returned home to some lovely cider and turned the fire on and my man is doing a wonderful job of reminding that he notices me and for today that is plenty. Infact, it is more than enough.

S x

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.