Moments

By togrrrl

Dreaming of the Ocean and a Brief Encounter

I was walking along, thinking about my friend Bighill who lives near the ocean in Nova Scotia and I saw the wind blowing across a puddle making ripples like a mini-squall in a mini-ocean.

So, of course I squatted down, on one of the toniest streets of Toronto, to take pictures of the water. A middle-aged man walking a tiny dog and wearing a faux leopard scarf tied around his neck stopped and asked "are you taking pictures of the puddle?" I straightened up, annoyed at the interruption. "Yes, it looks like the ocean" I replied, thinking go away, please go before the wind stops.

"Sometimes when I'm in a public toilet I like to drop a loonie [a Canadian dollar coin] in the urinal and pee on it." he tells me. "Then I stand and watch what people do. Do they try to pick it up out of the urinal? Do they notice it? I like to watch and see what happens". He smiles, then he walks on.

Taking pictures of puddles, peeing on money. Is there a difference?

Blip has enriched my life in so many ways!





Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.