'We are what we do.'

By Hasywell

Unexpected visitors!

Okay, I realise I live in the middle of nowhere and there was a lot of rain last night and all day, but this was the last thing I expected to find hopping about in my living room! He definitely did not want to be caught either! In fact, after putting him in a container with a little water to wash off dust (must dust behind TV), I thought I would get a photo! This was one of the better shots due to the fact that he kept escaping! Clearly, he was not going to be my prince disguised as a frog! More an escape artist! So I walked down the track to find a suitable place to let him go, only to find that he had already jumped ship!

His unexpected visit did make me smile though and remember my nan, who collected frogs. Now, when you are not thinking or looking, a frog will seem to appear out of nowhere. Today's appearance reminded me of the time, when a year after nan had passed away my mum, sister and I decided to go for a long walk along the beach. We parked up and as I stepped out of the car there was one of the plastic frogs that you get in Xmas crackers right in my pathway. No matter what people believe or don't believe, incidents like that can sometimes give a moment of comfort when you need it the most. Just like today.

Three beautiful things:
1. My unexpected visitors - as well as the frog this morning, a rather large bumble bee came to visit. What beautiful creatures they are.
2. The rain - why? It was the perfect excuse to stop and curl up on the sofa with an afternoon film, with my three (four-legged) girls.
3. Walking through the sodden fields- the rain stopped, Jem found a flooded part of the big field and bounced up and down, through the water, double rainbows shone in the sky and the sun blazed through the trees of the fort. Suddenly I could see for miles again. I am so incredibly lucky to live here, on one of the highest points in the South Hams, every day the views take my breath away, just like today.

One thing to be grateful for:
My family are safe and well unlike those caught up in the earthquake in Turkey.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.