Today's Special

By Connections

Shoot While the Sun Is Out

We won't be getting many more days like this here, with bright sunshine, blue skies, and fluffy white clouds, as a hard winter is forecast.

And I can't call myself LocalFoodLover without providing at least one photo of our year-round local food shopping resource, considering how many photos I've already featured from our farmers' market.

The Community Food Co-op began in 1970, one of the countless food co-ops that sprang up in the United States in that decade. After a couple of moves, in 1994 the co-op settled in the location pictured here, in the heart of downtown. A second store opened north of downtown in 2009.

The downtown store is a block from the YMCA, so it's easy to stop off for a few items after a pickleball game (P) or an exercise class (me). The full-service deli is wonderful, and we often buy the lunch of the day to split between us at home.

We can choose milk, cheese, and yogurt from several local dairies, bread from several local bakeries, fruits and vegetables from a wide range of local farmers, and local beer and wine (as well as excellent choices from elsewhere), and I could go on and on about their community shopping days in support of local nonprofits, their Farm Fund, their excellent classes, and much more, but that's not what you come to Blipfoto for.

Maybe I'll do a photo of the gustatory delights in that deli case sometime...

(After I finished my exercise class at the Y this afternoon, I took advantage of the room's fourth floor windows to take a few photos of Bellingham -- get a glimpse of the City of Subdued Excitement here and here.)


Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.