Today's Special

By Connections

Playing with Food

This lovely little squash has been languishing on my kitchen counter for two weeks, waiting for me to come up with an interesting pose for it.

As a break from making meals, chopping and cooking down our less-than-perfect apples into six pints of applesauce, doing four loads of laundry, and other domestic tasks, I took the squash out on our deck in the sunshine and tried various "artistic placements."

The winner was the deck umbrella stand -- enough of the squash's base nestled nicely into the tube where the umbrella shaft goes that I could shoot without having to worry about the squash rolling awkwardly away.

Maybe we won't put that umbrella stand away for the winter after all -- I think it might be useful again.

(Here's my alternate shot -- a winsome owl from Mount Bakery, three inches of deliciousness. No real creative effort here, just great self-control exerted so as not to nibble on the subject -- yet.)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.