Back of blue

Fragmentary Blue
by Robert Frost

Why make so much of fragmentary blue
In here and there a bird, or butterfly,
Or flower, or wearing-stone, or open eye,
When heaven presents in sheets the solid hue?

Since earth is earth, perhaps, not heaven (as yet)--
Though some savants make earth include the sky;
And blue so far above us comes so high,
It only gives our wish for blue a whet.


I had many shots I considered for my journal today. Salutes from leaves, starlings framed by trees, chipmunks on their last days to stock their larder for the coming cold. In the end I went with blue .

Of course, then there was this frustrated hunter behind the glass...


For the Record,
This day came in cool and sunny, with a chilly breeze. Rain on the way I guess.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.