The Day I....

By Paega

The Day I Went To The Council

After the storm, the calm, then the storm. Yesterday's crashing waves were replaced this morning by warm sunshine. This morning's warm sunshine was replaced by this afternoon's deluge and this evening there is a bit of fog in the air.

I'm not sure if this photo really works. It does for me, but I'm not sure if the angle of the columns are offputting. In a recent photo magazine they talked about this effect and said that to maintain verticals then the lens has to be parallel to the object you are taking. I tried that but it looked a bit boring. Anyway let me know what you think. It was taken at the council offices that double as the local registry office where I did my 11+, cycling proficiency test, got married and was best man at my son's wedding (not all on the same day!). It's soon to fall into private hands, I do hope they retain its character.

Yesterday was club night at the photography club and I came 2nd, 3rd and 5th in my class which really cheered me up no end. Having only really got back into SLR photography over the last couple of months after a good few years point and shoot with my compact, I am really enjoying it. The competition at the club is fierce. The advanced section photos were super impressive. I feel that everyday I learn something new which is both exciting and serves as a lesson that on that basis I still have shed loads to learn.



In the news... Well the Tory back benchers revolted but the vote still failed. I still think it's a load of hot air but the "no bad feeling" comments coming from David Cameron suggests that the coalition isn't strong and he can't upset his own members in case they decide to break it.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.