Captain's Logbook

By CaptainSensible

Diplomacy

Work took me South of the river today and I came back via London Bridge. For our overseas friends this photo shows Tower Bridge, taken from London Bridge. There is an urban myth that the American entrepreneur Robert McCulloch purchased the old London Bridge thinking that he was buying Tower Bridge. Sadly this doesn't appear to be true.

Construction started in 1886 and it took eight years at a cost of £1,184,000 maybe about £100 million in todays money.

I don't know anything about the warship in the foreground. If anyone can fill me in I would love to know.

I find it fascinating round these parts, there is so much history. There is aset of stairs just on the South end of the bridge, which form the setting for Bill Sykes murder of Nancy in Dicken's novel 'Oliver Twist'.

I will blip more stuff next time I visit. Soon I hope.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.