The back of my mind

By DCook

PS Wingfield Castle

Me and my partner treated ourselves to lunch out today in Hartlepool, while our daughter went swimming with her grandparents. We had a walk about and a look at the sea. I always have to do this when I come back 'home' (as I still think of it). Nottingham is great, but it's so land-locked!

I think it may be a spring tide at the moment and the water was crashing over the defences as further out to sea the big container ships and tankers queued up to get into Teesport. It was calmer in the the marina and over at the historic quay and we went on board this paddle steamer that they've got moored up there as a visitor attraction. There was a bit of history about it on a board - my choice of fact to share with you is that at some point in its life it was used as a set in the film 'Elephant Man'! The masts in the background are of the HMS Trincomalee.

We ate our lunch at Krimo's by the marina - a real treat! The food was lovely and the staff really friendly. I took a picture of my napkin, which I nearly put on here. It displays their motto, which my partner nearly embarrassed herself laughing over: 'Krimo's - Always Floats to the Top'. I s'pose they thought it was appropriate as they're next to the sea, but I know the image conjured up in my mind...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.