Displacement activities

By Detritus

Bit of a rush job

Seems the theme here today.

I had the day alone, with girl on an outing, and Mrs Me at work (I've the week off to cover childcare for the school hols).

After doing one or two necessary bits (laundry etc) I had surprisingly little time left to do "me" stuff. Managed a good ten minutes in the library, and to wave the camera around the city much less than I'd hoped.
Central here is Westlegate tower, marked for demolition (we all hope). This was once a rather charming area of the city, with the splendour of bank plain to the left opposite Curls department store, and the historic Surrey Street & St Stephens to the right, with Theatre Street leading off behind me. However, in 1942 the Baedecker raids flattened this area, and it was rebuilt with perhaps less sympathy than we would now wish for. The contrast in building styles around here is striking, and none too pretty.

Was busy in the city today, however being me I was able to drift along in my own little caffeine fuelled world.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.