hoodedpigwoman

By hoodedpigwoman

Sauchiehall Lane

The business end of the only-slightly-more-salubrious Sauchiehall Street, where just round the corner a car was being removed. I nearly took a picture of that too.

It was a cooler and rather nice day, until it started bucketing down mid-afternoon. The rain was still streaming down this lane, I thought you would be able to see it in the picture, but now I can't tell. I rather like that many of the back lanes in the city centre are still cobbled.

I don't know why it popped into my head, but when I saw the wheeliebin, it made me think of a programme I saw about the West Bank, which, whatever your political viewpoint, cannot be a nice place to be an ordinary person. Despite the massive differences in our lives and opportunities, the thing that most shocked me was they had the same wheeliebins. It's a bit like when you see pictures of Bloody Sunday and Boots is in the background. We mentally separate our lives from what we think of as warzones...like it couldn't happen here. And maybe it couldn't, but you can't be sure. And the people there are just like us, it really reminded me of that fact - I work for Oxfam, and I still have to be reminded!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.