Brian's Bits

By Kanyl

Clivia from seed.

I was moving some plants back from the wild outdoors when I noticed I had not yet done anything about my seeds.

Being a bit of a novice I tried a couple of years back, successfully got some seed which proved to be viable. So last year I tried again, crossing rather than self-seeding.

This lot is the outcome, I reckon I'll need to be about 75 to see them flower.
(ADDED in 2019 - At 76 not a flower in sight).
I was a wee bit gobsmacked to see 3 photos a bit like Ernie Wise's wig, ''You can't see the join.'' Well. O.K. You can, but it's not as obvious as I expected.

Top ... As they were, after the moluscs had a nibble.
Middle ... The entire crop.
Bottom ... What passes for ''sown'', until there's an obvious root.

It seems a few of us have Blipped Clivias in the past.

Problem ...
If the plural of Datum is data,
the plural of Amoeba is amoebae,
what's the plural for a herd of clivia?

P.S. A 10P piece is exactly the same diam as a $0.25.

Back to 2019.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.