Today's Special

By Connections

Simple Pleasures

Today was a much better day than yesterday. I had a lovely visit and delicious lunch with my friend Jesse, whom some of you may remember from P's blip in July. She is one of the most fascinating people I've ever met, and a fine artist, too. Her cozy apartment is filled with interesting art and beautiful everyday things, many of them purchased in thrift stores.

I had my Gentle Yoga class this afternoon and Jesse had an errand in the same area, so we took advantage of a not-rainy day to have a brief walk before going our separate ways. Part of it was on the Interurban Trail, which connects the Fairhaven area of Bellingham with Larrabee State Park, following a former railroad bed. You can get an idea of what the trail is like here.

Heading back into Fairhaven, our eyes were caught by the bright winter pansies in window boxes outside one shop, and I also caught Jesse's reflection in between the two posters on the window.

I took today's blip, with which I heartily agree, inside Village Books, the finest independent bookstore I have ever encountered -- and I've been in a lot of bookstores, as reading is an essential part of my life. Here is another photo, showing more of the store, which includes an excellent cafe, as well as an astonishing collection of books and book-related items. One of the key reasons we moved here was Village Books -- it truly is a cornerstone of this community.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.