Coffee Spoons

By MissMarj

View From Victoria Terrace

George Heriot was the eldest son of a goldsmith of the same name, who was descended from the Heriots of Traboun, a St Giles Cathedral and Goldsmiths' Hallfamily of some antiquity in East Lothian. The young George Heriot learned his father's trade and established his own business in a "buith" near St. Giles Cathedral. He was admitted as a member of the Incorporation of Goldsmiths in 1588 and in 1597 was appointed by James VI Goldsmith to his Queen, Anne of Denmark.

Heriot died childless in London on 12th February 1624 and was buried in St. Martin-in-the-Fields. After payment of considerable private legacies of about £6,826, he bequeathed the remainder of his estate for the purpose of founding in his native city a hospital for the upbringing and education of "puire fatherless bairnes, friemenes sones of that Toune of Edinburgh".

From George Heriot's School website.

I feel a bit of a traitor posting about George Heriot's as I'm an old Watsonian myself but you can't see Watson's from Victoria Terrace so there you go. I'll have to blip the old Ladies' college in George Square sometime to make up for it.

Again, this is blurry because it was kind of snapped on the move. I have to lose the embarrassment I feel about taking photos. I'm definitely working on it and one day aspire to be like the great , who I witness rolling about on the floor of Castle Coch in the name of blipping.
Greenzowie

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.