OrcadesDays

By Orc2009

Fishing frame

I got the wee bus up to Kirbuster Farm Museum in Birsay. Partly it was to see if I could find a rare Swainson's thrush spotted there, but I wasn't too bothered at not fiding it. The Museum is based around a farm some of which is about 500 years old. Lots of the fittings reminded me of my grandparents farmhouses in Ireland. Worth a visit if you're in the area, though it shuts for the winter at October's end.

I walked along the road and checked out a small plantation for migrants. Blackbirds, redwing and a single woodcock were in there, and glimpses of another bird I couldn't get a fix on.

I made my way to the old airfield nearby. Walking across a field I flushed a brown hare which ran through a flock of golden plover which flew into the air. While drinking my coffee, I watched a peregrine hunt low over the field. It caught something, perhaps a golden plover.

More here.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.