Young Gannet

Quite an interesting day interms of birds. I walked along to the Wideford Burn and met one of the local RSPB people. He went back to Kirkwall, but an hour later turned up again because a rare bird had been seen out in Deerness and I went along. The bird was flying around and I got some fuzzy shots. Though not great, they may help in ID because, even though there were a few really expert people there, no-one was exactly sure what it was. Or at least, what species of a particular small bird. Until it is precisely identified I'd better not say. If it is what they hope...then it is a first for the UK.

On the way back I stopped at Scapa pier. Lots of birds there; razorbills, guillemots, black guillemots, little auks, gannets etc. A little common seal sat on the slip nearby.

This shot is of a young gannet...hence the title!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.