Through my lens, Willis

By Willis

Junkman

A beautiful day to collect treasure which was another man's trash...

Enlarge

Caution Tech Stuff: Today I went to the Battery Show in Novi Michigan. Sitting on this blue table cloth was this collection of junk parts brazed all together. It was blip love at first sight. I took half dozen shots without a tripod in really bad light but I got a shot I could use.

Part one was to cut the car out of the blue background which was a tough knockout. There was lots of blue from the table cloth so I desaturated those areas to kill the blue tint on the edges.

Next I took an HDR of my backyard for a background plate. Put the truck on top of that and now it's starting to take some shape. Just under the truck I added a shadow layer and soft painted in a truck shadow.

Next I shot myself sitting on a stool on top of a white sheet. Knocked myself out from the sheet and added it as a new layer. Since I'm in the truck not on top of the truck I made a copy of the dashboard and steering wheel to a layer above me. This helps the illusion that I'm in the truck.

A little sharpening and a little vignette and we have the Junkman?

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.