Somerset House

The day started badly - I forgot my book and so had to read the paper on my phone for the whole bus journey (I know, that'll teach me for not cycling). Then work was a little manic. The day had an interlude o an equally manic lunch that was meant to be a "Thank you" from me to a colleague for helping me out on a project. However, I was constantly chasing the waiting staff for our order (every part of it), which didn't make for a relaxing time. My colleague and I had a good chat, though, despite the nonsense.

So I was a little exhausted come home time. The X (express) bus was packed to the gills with me standing alongside the driver. It was so packed that the driver didn't stop at Waterloo to pick up people. This meant that the folk who usually catch the X bus to alight at Waterloo were caught out good and proper. You see, and everyone who's a regular on the X knows this, the bus is non-stop between Waterloo and West Norwood and it DOES NOT let people off (unless you get a very nice driver). People who wish to alight at Waterloo have to struggle through the standing folk along the corridor to the front door in order to escape. Today, however, with no pick-up at Waterloo, everyone was faced with a journey to West Norwood. Stuck in traffic, an older gentleman beside me started to panic: "But I need to get home! Let me out!" The driver replied that it was an express bus and he couldn't open the doors, but the man could let himself out. A little bewildered, the man looked at the doors. The driver wasn't going to help him. So I pressed the green button and the doors opened. Suddenly there was an almighty push and shove as suited commuters struggled with their bags from all areas of the bus to escape. They'll think twice before catching the X again. Get on a regular bus, people - tons of buses go to Waterloo so leave the X to those who know! After that drama, the regular X folk settled down to their seats on the stairs and in the corridor (people sit everywhere on the X) and we zoomed on our way.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.