Ramblings and Mutterings

By ValleyAllBlack

October Origins - It could have been me!

Eisteddfods' are Welsh festivals of music, literature and performance and these were annual events at our school. I remember one particular year where I had a really good year, with a number of firsts and other placings for the various categories I had entered, we were also split into different houses for that extra bit of competition. Categories included crafts, poetry, singing, music (violins etc), story writing and a written project.

My one lasting memory from that year was my first in English Solo singing; we had to sing in front of the whole school with a couple of the teachers as judges. I gave my heart and soul to the song and was up against five other people, and came out on top later on in the day when the results were announced. I'd given so much to the song, and when I won I was emotionally drained by the occasion and my father had to collect me from school early because I fainted. Although it could have been the flu I was suffering from, lol, mind you my performance was all the more worthy because I did have flu.

Our headmaster was very much into his music and was very keen for me to go further with the singing, but I was more interested in my sport at the time and never went further. Who knows what could have happened? I might have been discovered and sung "we're walking in the air" and become an international star, instead of North Walian Aled Jones, plus I'm younger and better looking than him. Lol!

I still enjoy singing now but only do it for fun, although my mates and work colleagues would probably argue that there is no fun about at all. In fact they still don't believe that I came first in the English Solo, despite me showing them the certificate, they think it's fake. Blinking cheek!

The song I sung was 'Morning has broken' and I thought it was appropriate to have a photograph of a beautiful sunny morning, like this morning, to celebrate it. It is still one of my favourite hymns! Enjoy!

Morning has broken by Eleanor Farjeon (1881-1965)

Morning has broken like the first morning,
Blackbird has spoken like the first bird.
Praise for the singing!
Praise for the morning!
Praise for them, springing
Fresh from the Word!

Sweet the rain's new fall, sunlit from heaven,
Like the first dew-fall on the first glass.
Praise for the sweetness of the wet garden,
Sprung in completeness where his feet pass.

Mine is the sunlight! Mine is the morning
Born of the one light Eden saw play!
Praise with elation, praise ev'ry morning,
God's re-creation of the new day!


This October Origins blip was brought to you by PontyCyclops' challenge. Ponty got married today, so I hope all went well and you're having a good time with your good lady and friends.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.