Plus ça change...

By SooB

Un jour dreich

France seems to have become properly autumnal in the short time I was away. Today was rain from start to finish, varying in intensity so that it was always pouring especially hard whenever I had to be outside.

Some work on the house in the morning, then off to have Conor's cast removed. All kinds of trauma involved. First I had my first ever collision with a moving vehicle - a woman ran into the back of me but very delicately so no damage done. I mention it only because it was my first time. Once safely at the hospital, we reported to where I had been told to go, only to be told that obviously we first had to go to an office somewhere to get something I didn't understand. I threw myself on the mercy of the man I found in what I hoped was the right office and he was very kind and explained everything very slowly in very small words so I understood that I needed some stickers with Conor's name on. With those in hand, we ran through the rain back to the right bit of the hospital.

The cast removal was, however, even more traumatic. I think we have done too good a job in teaching the kids about the dangers of power tools, so when the nurse produced a mini angle grinder, he was understandably panicky. Although she proved, by holding it on her own skin, that it wouldn't cut skin, Conor wasn't convinced (frankly I think her shaking her hand and saying 'ow' afterwards didn't help). Eventually the doctor was called, and after some stern words I was eventually sent out of the room so I didn't witness them holding him down to do it. Probably wouldn't be allowed in Britain (?) but at least it's off now and he was smiling within 30 seconds because they said he could have the cast as a souvenir.

So his arm is all better, though a bit dirty and skinny*, and I'm sure Barcelona fans are relieved that their future goalkeeper can restart training on Wednesday. (He's chosen to be a goalkeeper as a friend of mine has pointed out that they can have a much longer career, and I'm sure Barcelona's keeper doesn't have much to do.)

* and with a bizarre indentation as a result of the diamond shaped elastic band he had shoved down his plaster in a distracted moment.

More work this afternoon, scraping green stuff (some kind of distemper?) off a ceiling, and getting ready for a thrilling weekend of floor sanding. The lady at the sander rental place was as lovely as ever, and even let us off the deposit cheque (I'd forgotten the chequebook) because she knows us. Now I really feel like a local. Leaving a note for the bread van man to leave the bread under the carport felt rather good too, in a way I'm unable to articulate. The only thing I can think to say is that I'm starting to feel connected to this place.

It's a good feeling.

Here's our garden in the rain. It's a jungle. It will be paradise.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.