Dolcezza Della Vita

By Dolcezza

Quinoa Oatmeal Muffins

Stormy evening last night - I was in the baking mood - decided to conjure up some muffins! I love quinoa - always looking for ways to cook with it, never baked with it - decided to try a recipe for oatmeal quinoa muffins I came across online - recipe looked a little bland - I added / removed a few things - here is the final recipe.

Oh I wish I could blip the way the house smelled as these were baking up - the scent of cinnamon/apples/raisins/vanilla - yummm!! I think I'll try a cranberry/walnut mixture next. Makes for a perfect breakfast!

Oatmeal Quinoa Muffins

1/2 cup dry Quinoa
1 1/2 cups dry quick oats
1 1/2 tsp baking powder
1/2 tsp salt
1 cup soy milk
2 cup eggs
1 tsp vanilla extract
1 medium apple (skin removed and chopped in small pieces)
1/2 cup apple sauce
1/4 cup sugar
1/2 cup pumpkin seeds
1/2 cup raisins
1 tsp cinnamon (more/less to taste-I used 2)
Cooking spray

Preheat oven to 325°F. Combine dry ingredients and add wet ingredients. Mix well. Pour mixture in muffin tin that has been well sprayed with cooking spray. Fill to the top. Bake for about 30 minutes, or to your liking. Let cool. Remove from tin. Store in an airtight container. Serve warm or right from the refrigerator.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.