Captain's Logbook

By CaptainSensible

Emergency blip

Another mad day. I took time to take a blip of a tower block in Kilburn and I had high hopes, but my plans went pear shaped. I wasn't getting the image I wanted.

So a hunt around the house and I came up with my ongoing series of "Blip it 'n' bin it" images.

My bookshelves are groaning with books I haven't touched in ages. Amongst them are a collection of (very) old photography books. I know it's controversial but.....in my opinion these are redundant. The pages devoted to equipment, types of film, methods of processing, storage of slides and negatives are all irrelevant.

In a way they serve as a reminder of how things used to be done. There are chapters about retouching with pictures of miniature airbrushes and craft knives.

The chapters on composition, light etc are still valid and repeated in more modern tomes so not lost. All in all they are no longer useful enough to keep, so in true Lord Sugar style I can say to them "with regret, you are binned".

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.