Waterfoot Sunrise

By alasdairb

Boats, Beach and Ducks

As the weather is awful today I visited the harbour in search of blip inspiration. I was pleasantly surprised to find about 120 Eider Ducks swimming about and making a constant but rather nice "ah - ooo" sound. Very pretty,but unfortunately my little compact was not up to capturing the detail of individual ducks.

Instead I settled for this triple deck of fishing boats, beach and ducks with the Eiders being the meat in the sandwich - or should that be crispy duck in the pancake? Whatever, it looks like a rather meagre portion in the middle!

Think I now know what I want for Christmas - a better camera and a big lens to capture these little fellows, who will be around all winter.

Incidentally, I observed that the black and white drakes outnumbered the female ducks by about 3 to 1. Does anyone why there is this ratio?

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.