Down Amongst The Mushrooms

After a blip holiday yesterday, brought on by the miserable weather, I decided I would go after a fungi blip today in the bright sunshine.

Not sure what kind of fungi these are but the garden is literally covered in them. I soon found they weren't as attractive to blip as I thought they might be, so instead searched for a bird amongst the fungi shot. It was easier said than done with various Tits and Finches flitting in and out of the selected area, but never hanging around long enough to get a sharp focus on them .

While firing off blips, Tommy Titmouse kept landing on the camera, my cap, shoulder or hand making it quite difficult to concentrate on blipping. I eventually went to another area of the garden where I could place one of his favourite sunflower seeds on a mushroom and get his photo. He is becoming a right wee poser and would rush back after stashing his seed nearby for the next shot. At one point he seemed to get a bit fed up with collecting seeds and was happy to sit on the grass beside me for about 20 seconds just looking up at me. Not normal behaviour for sure and I sometimes wonder what the other birds make of him!

When I returned to my original spot I had to give Tommy his own wee pile of seeds which I placed on the wall beside me. This kept him busy and gave me time to get a few shots. This was my favourite - Mr Dunnock sneaking out from under a Pittosporum bush to grab some food amongst the mushrooms.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.