Homage to the M25 at 25.

Homage to the M25 at 25.

We all know that hindsight is a wonderful thing, Lordy, Lordy! If only I'd known...
But foresight is far more valuable.

Just think.

When the Victorian engineers were planning this viaduct, for the railway line from Marylebone to Aylesbury, in the late 1800's, to cross the Misbourne valley just south of Amersham, one of them must have said:

"Hang on a mo, we'd better make the dimensions suitable for a 6 Lane London Orbital motorway, it's inevitable one will be constructed in 100 years' time."

"Oh, and let's make extra arches for when they widen it in another 20 years or so."

And so they did.

Sadly, the view has been totally spoilt by the recently installed overhead gantries, the Victorians and I don't like them one little bit.

Today is the official 25th Birthday of the M25, and this is my most favouritist bridge, just because it fits, and that always makes me smile!

At 117 miles the M25 is well worth a circumnavigation!

Happy 25th Birthday M25!

Oh! and by the way I was not responsible for this sign writing!
Originally it just said PEAS, the additional wording 'GIVE .... A CHANCE has been added in a different hand.


P.S. And I'm not incriminating myself by telling you lot the location or the wording of our slogans!!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.