Life's Little Moments

By dbifulco

Brrrr

Well, we are in the process of making a new weather record in my part of NJ. This will be the biggest snowfall for the month of October in history. Lucky us. My hubs is out of town this weekend, so I am in charge of snow removal. Did I mention that we have a 150 foot driveway? Yup. It's still snowing hard out right now, and expected to continue until around 2 in the morning, so tomorrow will be dig-out day.

Today, on the other hand, is "stay in the house and take a gazillion bird pictures through the window" day! I got so many pictures of birds in the snow that I decided to put them in a new blipfolio folder, so have a look if you want to see birds and snow!

This was my favorite of the day. This is a little lady goldfinch who spent a good part of an hour in my Droll Yankee window feeder, puffed up and eating seeds. She would eat awhile, them huddle down and rest. In this photo, she had just finished eating and had little seed crumbs all over her beak, and droplets of water from the snow on her back. I just loved the way she looked.

My two cats have spent much of the day glued to the windows, occasionally hurling themselves at the feeders (from the inside, mind you). Daft cats. You'd think they would have learned by now that they can't fly through glass!

A magnificent red-bellied woodpecker visited one of my feeders this morning before the snow started. Unfortunately, I didn't have my camera slung around my neck at the time, so I just decided to watch him and enjoy the moment. I am sure he'll be back at some point, ready for his close up.

For those of you who are in this storm's path, hope you stay warm and safe. I expect that we will have at least 8-10 inches before this storm moves out, so you can expect to see snow featured in tomorrow's blip as well.

Happy Saturday!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.