Furnace Lass

By furnacelass

Challenge 2011, Memories - Football

LARGE might be worth it if you can face the gloating.I changed the image as , although I can reead the label when i enalrge the image on my computer , I couldn't read it on the blip image. Iv'e selected and pasted the label above the image soit canbe read as it is quite funny. Hope there is no problem with blip rules re lettering . If so I will change it.

Such a wild, wet day today so I spent the afternoon indoors converting RAW images from our trip to Switzerland and Leichenstein for Scotland's Euro qualifier against leichenstien. This gave me an idea for the memories challenge ( there was no way i was going to get out today with the camera )

Yesterday i found a box of old recorda and football programmes so , following on from the musical meories upload for the challenge I thought I would do a football memories upload.Gathered together selected programmes from the old Home Internationals from the distant past, and a very precious bottle of whisky.

The whisky was put in the cask immediately after the 1967 game at Wembley when our national team won 3-2 against the 1966 World Champions . What memories! Jim Baxter plying "keepie upie during the game - with style ! ... and the label really was meant to be taken tvery much tongue in cheek.

Thirty years later I won the chance to buy a bottle of this limited edition whisky in one of our national Sunday papers, had to write a persuasive story with special memories of the beautiful game and times spent watching Scotland at Wembley. I deliberately blipped the reverse of the bottle as I know it will bring back memories to all the fans out there. Let's face it with our recent failed campaign in the Euros memories like these keep us going.

The programmes are from all four nations and from different eras and part of footballing history.


Now that we are both retired following our beloved Scotland across the globe is now possible as we could never get away before because of work. Which brings me to the back blips uploaded tonight , all from the first part of our trip to see the game in Liechenstien. None of them football blips , tourist shots off course.

Swiss Street Art

Vineyard View

It Rains in Switzerland Too

Tamina Gorge.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.