The Daily Bun

By pennybun

A garden first!

Today I was up at the crack of dawn to go watching for migrating birds on the moorland fringes with the local bird study group. For some reason, these events seem to be jinxed, because although the forecast was for good weather, the mist rolled in from the south, and soon we could see very little.
Later, at home, the weather improved so I kept an eye on the garden, as there are plenty of the usual garden visitors around - blue tit, coal tit, great tit, chaffinch, robin, magpie - even glimpsed a jay. But this mistle thrush, although not rare, is a first for the garden. He hung around for a while and hopped between the higher bushes and rooftops.
I had a go at making pumpkin bread., something I've been meaning to do for a number of years but never got round to. I used to love it when I went to Germany, as I often have done at this time of year. It was a qualified success - I think it could have done with an extra 5 or 10 minutes in the oven.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.