While on my runs

By waipushrink

Protective mother

Another night staying in the beach house without electricity, and another early morning run. This time, I went along the road towards the end of the peninsula, and early on got a couple of good pictures over Algies Bay towards the rising sun.

On the way back from the highest point on the road (not much more than a hillock to the fell runners whose journals I admire), i stopped to take some pictures of cow and calf in a paddock beside the road. From the start the mother had her eye on me and didn't look away the whole time I was there.

Whether it was due to encouragement by its mother, or self determined behaviour, the calf moved from behind its mother to this position where it was rubbing its head under mother's jaw. There was little further movement by either.

Yesterday I suggested I might blip a photograph of what we have done over the weekend and this morning at the beach house. My lovely S, tired and stiff as she is from all the sweeping, clearing and cleaning (builders must take a degree in mess!), looked at my pictures and was so taken by this one that I have put this up in recognition of all that she does for those for whom she cares.

Back in the apartment this evening and connected to the internet again. So, I have backblipped for Sturday and Sunday:

Throwback, by Neil Dawson, 1992
Catching the sun

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.