an image of teamdel

By teamdel

Meloncholy

This may look like a standard generic halloween image but it is not. As mentioned yesterday we have stuggled in our quest for a pumpkin and so came up with an alternative which may prove to actually be an improvement on the traditional squash.

The honeydew melon carving not only looked the part but its flesh was far, far nicer to eat than that of a pumpkin. I am hoping it may catch on.

We have had quite a few visitors demanding sugary treats this evening, most have been well received. I was not overly impressed with the four teenage girls who made little effort and looked very miserable as one of them muttered "trick or treat". My laughing reply of "Your a bit old for this aren't you" did not go down well as one of them scowled at me and said "NO". With that I threw them some sweets laughed some more and shut the door. At least they were not drinking alchopops like our friends encountered last year.

Baby has found it all rather confusing but Toddler has excelled in rationing and handing out the goodies to the smaller groups of children. She was particularly good when a big girl who was very shy came to the door and she took the sweets out to her to put in her bag. When we shut the door Toddler told me just how many sweets were in her bag. I then realised that when she was dishing out the goods she was enjoying seeing the individual hoards the children were aquiring.

I am still not sure about halloween and am not sure if we will ever trick or treat, but I do enjoy the theatre of getting the visits ourselves and seeing how our little ones are fascinated by all the costumes. Myself, I particularly liked seeing a werewolf on a scooter as I cycled home.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.