Strawhouse

By strawhouse

The Phone Box

Last year I moved my family back to the village I grew up in. I want my daughters to grow up in the countryside. I had a fabulous childhood running round the village, climbing trees, making camps, scrumping, going to the tiny village school (now converted into a not-very-nice house) and generally having a wonderful time. I know there must be a degree of rose coloured glasses but it was pretty special.
This phone box is opposite the house I grew up in. My mum used to buy furniture at the local auction and then put ads in the paper giving the phone box number. She'd pay me and my brother 10p per call to sit by the phone and answer it when it rang.
Tonight I had a memory of standing at the garden gate one Halloween night and looking out for witches on broomsticks above the phone box. I remember being terrified and excited at the same time.
Of course the phone box was red then and you had to insert only 2p after the pips to speak to someone. God I'm old......!!!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.