Where Next?

By HK

The moment I lost 10 bucks

Melbourne Cup Day.

We woke up early to join Shannon for a yoga class, well Andy did while I researched a cafe for a very unhealthy breakfast. With the help of an irish man I put my first ever bet on a horse I was very confident about (it was trained in North Yorkshire and had won at Ebor). Andy followed suit but chose to bet on the race favourite. We caught the tram and headed down to St Kilda East to meet up with friends and watch the race that stops a nation (and gives them a public holiday)....

...needless to say we both lost everything, my horse actually appeared to be going backwards and Andy's came in 4th. Thats me and gambling finished!

This evening we went down to see the not-very-well-known-about penguins, (yes penguins in Australia!) at the pier. Towards sunset they all come out and feed as the tide comes in. Andy performed an act of bravado and helped free a penguin with its head wedged between two rocks. They were very cute!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.