Add a dash of adventure..

By Melasaurus

The great big yolk dilemma

It always bugs me a little when a recipe only uses egg whites, or uses more egg whites than yolks, and I'm left over with a bunch of egg yolks. The great big yolk dilemma happens a lot in my life, since I make macarons fairly often and they only require egg whites.

I never know what to do with all these spare egg yolks. They can't be frozen, they have to be used fairly quickly and I don't want to throw them away because that's just such a waste. I know that custard requires egg yolks but I'm not a big custard fan. Sometimes I make curd with them, but I don't need tonnes of the stuff. So I'm always left with a bit of a dilemma. Most of the time the yolks end up in a quiche or an omelette. Today it was a tasty cheese and herb omelette.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.